Press Release – IAA Convention Contest Results

2016 Iowa Auctioneers Association Convention Contest Results

Des Moines, IA – This year’s Iowa Auctioneers Association annual convention was jam-packed with classes, competition and camaraderie. The Iowa Auctioneers Association is proud to announce the winners of the multiple competitions held at their annual convention on February 5-7, 2016 at the Courtyard by Marriott in Ankeny.

Preliminary Bid Calling Contest Results
Twenty-nine auctioneers participated in the Preliminary Auctioneer Contest. Twenty of the competitors advanced to the Bid Calling Finals which will be held on Tuesday, August 16, 2016 at the Iowa State Fair. The Iowa State Fair Finalists names are in bold in the list below.

Mark your calendars now to enjoy the excitement and traditions of the state fair while supporting your fellow auctioneers as they show their skills and talents at this year.
Tracey Bantz – Independence, IA
Terry Hoenig – Denmark, IA
Dorothy Bantz – Independence, IA
Blake Kuesel – Victor, IA
Trisha Brauer – Roeland Park, KS
Russell Lamp – Letts, IA
Jordan Cannon – Corydon, IA
Adam Marshall – Elm Creek, NE
Bryan Davenport – Boaz, AL
Leon Martin – Ionia, IA
Chantz Davidson – Orient, IA
Chad Shepard – Cedar Falls, IA
Jeff Garber – Lincoln, NE
Justin Steward – Wyoming, IA
Scott Gillespie – Graceville, MN
Dylan Webb – Osceola, IA
Kam Hartstach – Clarinda, IA
Daniel Wilson – Redfield, IA
Raymond Helmuth – Cambridge, IA

Joel Ambrose, Panora, IA, Austin Ascherl, Clarinda, IA, Dan Hershberger, Lime Springs, IA, Michael Howk, Bloomfield, IA, Gerald Johnston, Knoxville, IA, Dylan Laughery, Bagley, IA, Kyle Miller, Jewel, IA, Chuck Posegate, Nevada, IA, Clay Stetzel, Bagley, IA also competed in the Auctioneer Contest.

The Rookie Contest was full of life with 3rd place tying Deann Wood of Boone, IA and Dave Esdohr of Urbandale, IA, 2nd place went to Olivia Hoenig of West Point, IA and the champion of the Rookie Contest is Brooke Gillespie of Graceville, MN.

The Ring Contest finishes off the winners list with Barbara “Barbie” Doering of Hubbard, IA coming in at 3rd place, Ed Shover of Anamosa, IA placed 2nd, and Jeffery Sweeney of Waukon, IA is the Ring Contest champion.

The Iowa Auctioneers Association would like to thank everyone who made this year’s convention a success! This includes not only those who exhibited and sponsored, but the attendees and contest participants that make our convention a must-see event.

The Iowa Auctioneers Association was established in 1949 to enhance the skills, knowledge, professionalism, and image of all Iowa auctioneers; while seeking to elevate the standards of the auction industry and promote a good public image. For more information about the Iowa Auctioneers Association please go to