IAA Bid Calling Contest Finals

Twenty-one auctioneers will compete in the 2013 Iowa State Champion Auctioneer Contest at the IAA Bid Calling Contest Finals on Tuesday, August 13 at 9 a.m. The contest is a lively and entertaining affair and allows the general public to learn more about auctioneering.

The contestants are:

Dorothy Bantz – Independence, IA
Tracey Bantz – Independence, IA
Todd Borgmeyer – Norfolk, NE
Trisha Brauer – Roeland Park, KS
RJ Brinkmeyer – Hubbard, IA
Jordan Cannon – Central City, IA
TJ Demoss – Albia, IA
Jeff Garber – Lincoln, MO
Daniel Hershberge – Lime Springs, IA
Craig Hilpipre – Cedar Falls, IA
Leroy Hoffman – Titonka, IA
Gary Juranek – Council Bluffs, IA
Tim Markham – Holy Cross, IA
Chris Mason – Early, IA
Steve Maynes – Dexter, IA
Matt McWhirter – Wayland, IA
Jerick Miller – Stark City, IA
Randy Nefzger – Dyersville, IA
Chris Richard – Mt. Pleasant, IA
Tyler Runge – Columbus, NE
Don Wagner – Humeston, IA

The contestants emerged from a group of 36 auctioneers who participated in the preliminary bid calling contest during the IAA Annual Convention which was held in early February.

Contestants are judged on speed, bid calling ability, salesmanship and appearance. The top five place winners will receive a ribbon, trophy and cash prize which is $1,000 for the state champion.