Hagler Captures Corn Classic Win

2023 corn classic buckle

The 2023 Iowa Corn Classic Open Bid Calling Competition came to it's conclusion on February 11 and crowned Shawn Hagler from Arizona as the Grand Champion.

Fifteen competitors from eight states faced off in the competition that awarded $5000 to the winner and another $4500 among the six runners up. The Grand Champion also received a signature Corn Classic belt buckle.

The Top Seven contestants were:

Grand Champion - Shawn Hagler | Wittman, Ariz.
Reserve Champion - Austin Shaben | Dunlap, Iowa
First Runner Up - Dylan Webb | Milo, Iowa
Fourth Place - David Whitaker | Huxley, Iowa
Fifth Place - Austin Creamer | Hartington, Neb.
Sixth Place - David Chaddock | Whittemore, Iowa
Seventh Place - Sonny Jensen | Albert Lea, Minn.

The Corn Classic takes place in conjunction with the Iowa Beef Expo with part of the contest requiring bid callers to auction scholarship sponsorships for young people involved in animal agriculture. This year's competition was held on February 11. The 2024 Corn Classic will take place in February 2024. Check the Iowa Corn Classic page for updates: https://www.iowaauctioneers.org/iowa-corn-classic