Cannon Claims Champion at 2022 Auctioneers Convention

Cannon webimage

February 3-5, 2022 the Iowa Auctioneers held their annual convention in Des Moines, Iowa. The conference included continuing education courses, new industry information, new ideas and materials for the auctioneer and Auction Company plus a great opportunity to network with other auctioneers. One part of the meeting is set aside to showcase the talents and abilities of attending auctioneers with a chance to be named the 2022 State Bid calling Champion.

After this year’s preliminary round of 15 entrants, 5 are selected by a panel of 5 judges to progress to the finals followed by another round of auctioneering and 3 questions regarding a variety of topics within the industry that must be answered. These questions have not been heard by the contestants prior to their appearance in the final round. The same 5 judges will score the finalists and determine who will be crowned champion.

This year Jordan Cannon a young man from Marion Iowa rose to the top and achieved the top prize of being named 2022 Iowa Auctioneers Association Champion, along with that he was presented with a coveted Belt Buckle, Trophy, $1,000 and an entry into the Iowa Corn Classic. The inaugural Iowa Corn Classic bid calling contest will be this Saturday Feb.12th in conjunction with the Iowa Beef Expo. Contestants from all over the United State will compete for a $5000 top prize, this event is open to the public

Jordan attended auction school at World Wide College of Auctioneering in Mason City Iowa in 2005 at the age of 14. He worked in the family auction business Cannon Auction Service until purchasing it in 2021.

According to Jordan “it’s been a lifelong dream to be crowned the Iowa Champion” and I am excited and proud to be an ambassador for the Iowa Auctioneers Association and the Auction Industry in general.

Jordon Cannon, Champion

Mason Holvoet, Reserve Champion 

Dylan Webb, 1st runner up

Leon Martin, 2nd runner up

Jake Goecke, 3rd runner up


Rookie Competition
Sonny Jensen, Rookie Champion

Ring Man Competition
Jordon Hansen, Ring Man Champion