2014 IAA Bid Calling Finals

Twenty auctioneers will compete in the 2014 Iowa State Champion Auctioneer Contest at the IAA Bid Calling Contest Finals on Tuesday, August 12 at 9 a.m. The contest is a lively and entertaining affair and allows the general public to learn more about auctioneering.

The contestants are:

Jared Anstine – Holden, MO
Jerick T. Miller – Leon, IA
Tracey Bantz – Independence, IA
Randy Nefzger – Dyersville, IA
Damian Beard – Mason City, IA
Russell Puchalla – Roca, NE
Halie Behr – Grimes, IA
Christopher L. Richard – Mt. Pleasant, IA
Thomas Bradley – Winterset, IA
Jeremy Schafer – Lake City, MN
Jordan Cannon – Central City, IA
Johsua Teter – Laclede, MO
Rod Johnson – Cannon Falls, MN
Brian Tompkins – Solon, IA
Tim Markham – Holy Cross, IA
Aaron Traffas – Manhattan, KS
John McDowell – Rapid City, SD
Dylan Webb – Osceola, IA
Matt McWhirter – Wayland, IA
Daniel Wilson – Redfield, IA

The contestants emerged from a group of 36 auctioneers who participated in the preliminary bid calling contest during the IAA Annual Convention which was held in early February.

Contestants are judged on speed, bid calling ability, salesmanship and appearance. The top five place winners will receive a ribbon, trophy and cash prize which is $1,000 for the state champion.